Net Use – Disconnect all previous connections to the server or shared resource

November 19th, 2010 | | Posted in Networking

Error : Multiple connections to a server or shared resource by the same user, using more than one user name are not allowed. Disconnect all previous connections to the server or shared resource and try again.

This error may occur in the networks if some previous sessions of network shares still exist in the cache. the shares many be connected with different log in credentials. If you get the error, directly go to command prompt and list the list of connections authenticated. Use following command to list them

net use

net use connections

There you can see the list of shared item you already connected. select the session you want to reconnect. for Eg \\192.168.0.1\c$. Type the following command to remove the session.

net use \\192.168.0.1\c$ /delete

now try to access the share once again

if you want to give user id and password in single command, then use the following command

net use \\192.168.0.1\c$ /user:localhost\username password
Leave a Reply 19326 views, 4 today |

Author :

I am a Technology Blogger, I Blog about technology related articles, Active in online and offline tech communities

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.


More in Networking (4 of 20 articles)